In 1912, the Town of Hyde Park shed its independent identity and became a part of the City of Boston. Only forty-four years earlier, a group of men known as the Twenty Associates, had founded the Town of Hyde Park. Led by Alpheus P. Blake, the Twenty Associates, purchased 100 acres of land on the Neponset River from Dorchester, Milton and Dedham to build their town.
Hyde Park grew quickly after its 1868 incorporation. The town’s picturesque scenery and proximity to Boston by rail attracted individuals and families interested in a more pastoral lifestyle. In 1887, 1500 individuals called Hyde Park home. By 1912, the year Hyde Park joined the City of Boston, the town boasted 15,000 residents.
These images and documents from the City of Boston Archives document Hyde Park’s rich culture and community in both its years as an independent town and its time as a beloved Boston neighborhood.
Exhibit by Marta Crilly